Archive for the Talbot Brothers Category

The Talbot Brothers – (Reborn)

Posted in Country Rock, Jesus Music, Legends, Music Reviews, Talbot Brothers with tags , , , , , on August 17, 2008 by rezband1

Terry Talbot and Brother John Michael Talbot formed a 60’s band named Mason Proffit who would influence a number of Country Rock bands like the Eagles. Mason Proffit had a number of spiritually based songs but when the band broke up in 1974, The Talbot Brothers continued on Warner Brothers Label with overtly Christian Lyrics.

The Jesus Movement always had an influx of country rock and folk bands but none had the experience or professionalism at that point in Jesus People history then The Talbot Brothers.

The record starts out with a great little tune called Easy To Slip that will get your toes a tapping with some frenzied banjo playing by John Michael, what a fun opening and a continued favorite today! Comin’ Home to Jesus is the next song that is a handclappin’ salvation song that makes you feel like your in a radical church in the ozarks somewhere. The mellower tunes are full of harmony and soul searching. The track Over Jordan sounds like it could have been an Eagles hit back in the day. Moline Truckin’ a fun trucker song that gets a faster temper as it goes, is probably the lyrical oddball in the bunch and was left off the 1976 re-release from Sparrow Records who renamed the album Reborn. Carnival Balloon sounds like it’s straight from some honky tonk and the musicianship is really top-notch. Actually the whole album has popular studio musicians and John and Terry are no slouches playing banjo, harmonica, and guitars. I have listened to this album lately and the crafting of these songs are not only fun and meaningful but rank up there with some of the best country rock groups ever. Good luck finding this rare gem in its original form.   -MP

You can download Reborn Here because I can not find these MP3’s anywhere to buy.

1 Easy To Slip (3:19)
2 Comin’ Home To Jesus (2:42)
3 In My Dreams (3:09)
4 And The Time (2:44)
5 Trail Of Tears (3:47)
6 Over Jordan (4:32)
7 Moline Truckin’ (2:12)
8 Come And Gone (2:54)
9 Over Again (2:56)
10 Carnival Balloon (3:25)
11 Hear You Callin’ (2:06)

John Michael Talbot

Terry Talbot and Mason Proffit