Randy Stonehill – Welcome To Paradise

Randy Stonehill’s Welcome to Paradise album was a well crafted work Produced by Larry Norman and Engineered by Andy Johns (The Who, Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin).

The production was good for 1976 and the lyrics showed Randy was soulful and humorous. His music had that Larry Norman feel to it. Some Influences of James Taylor and others abound but it was uniquely Stonehill.

The Album starts with King of Hearts with an almost lullaby quality to it, gently showing you the purpose to this life. Keep Me Runnin’ is the best song on the Disc and is still a favorite live. This song is driven by a rough edged acoustic guitar and a haunting vocal that recalls our struggle with sin and being human. The Tunes Winner (High Card) and Lung Cancer are sarcastic looks at the ego’s of the powerful, Pride and Cigarettes. I used to love requesting the song Lung Cancer at Randy’s shows so I could here him say, “Oh, I am so sorry to hear that!” and I can almost see Randy’s tears welling up in the song Puppet Strings. Other songs deal with everything from Christmas to Christ’s Return, like the Jammin’ rock song, Good News where Larry Norman is cranked up in the background.

Randy Stonehill created a work of art that lasted the archives of Christian Music. This will always be a well deserved classic of extremely talented songwriting and production.

Randy was just as powerful at his live shows. He would have a combination of zany comic attack that left you in stitches, then sing and have you in emotional tears. Randy is still doing shows so if you ever get a chance to see him it’s a real treat!

I do not know how much I impressed upon you that Randy Stonehill is probably the living Father of “Christian Music”, now that Larry is gone. I do not know how comfortable Randy is with that? But he deserves a round of cheers and applause for this record!…

at the very least!  -MP

Personnel

· Randy Stonehill: acoustic guitars, vocals.

· Larry Norman: electric guitar, piano, harmonies.

· Jon Linn: lead guitar.

· Mark Walker: drums.

· The Mighty T-Bone: bass.

Tracks

Side One: Paradise Lost (sorrow and sadness….)

  1. “King Of Hearts” – 4:53
  2. “Keep Me Runnin’” – 5:57
  3. “The Winner (High Card)” – 3:43
  4. “Lung Cancer” – 3:31
  5. “Puppet Strings” – 4:25

Side Two: Paradise Regained (….turn into gladness)

  1. “First Prayer” – 3:08
  2. “I’ve Got News For You” – 3:49
  3. “Song For Sarah” – 3:28
  4. “Christmas Song For All Year ‘Round” – 3:56
  5. “Good News” – 3:18

If anyone knows where to buy the CD Re-Release in stock, please tell me. Until then it is HERE. (rar File)

7 Responses to “Randy Stonehill – Welcome To Paradise”

  1. There are copies available “used & new from $24.95″ on Amazon at the moment…

    Great video!

  2. Love your site. This LP is one of my all-time favorites. I still have the vinyl record and have made a digital copy of it.

  3. Where can I buy this without getting it on line? I lost my copy I’ve had for many, many years. This is my fav. album in the ENTIRE world……I know every song on it and have been singing it since it came out!!!!!!!! I wish all the songs were playable on line, but I only find “keep me runnin’”….

  4. Mark Ebert Says:

    You can purchase WELCOME TO PARADISE at larrynorman.com. I think they’re selling it for around $16.99.

  5. Dennis Davison Says:

    The CD and Vinyl can be found for sale at Amazon. I have a signed LP that I purchased at a youth weekend in 1977.

  6. I used to cover “Lung Cancer” for friends and at coffee-house gigs… especially for my smoking friends! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

